Cinnamon Brown Butter Breakfast Puffs

I like to bake on weekend mornings and lately I’ve been obsessed, like so many others, with Deb Perelman over at Smitten Kitchen. I don’t think I’ve made anything of hers that hasn’t been terrific. (And easy to follow.) Maybe I’ll attempt to make one of her recipes every day for a year like Amy Adams did with Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Well, Amy Adams played the home cook in the movie. The real cook was named Julie something-or-other (too lazy to google today). I wonder who would play me in the movie of me trying to cook my way through Smitten Kitchen. I’m thinking Woody Allen. You’d pay to watch Woody Allen make French Breakfast Puffs, wouldn’t you?

These French Breakfast Puffs were super easy. Making brown butter and creaming some butter (yes, there’s a fair amount of butter involved) are perhaps the only real techniques involved. Otherwise it’s just mixing. And the final step is quite fun. Next time I’ll get the kids involved in this step. You coat the just-baked puffs in the brown butter and then roll them in cinnamon sugar. (Deb provides options for regular size muffins or mini-muffins, and you can coat just the top in cinnamon sugar or the whole muffin. I went for the mini-muffin tin for a more donut ball like puff. And I coated the whole thing, of course.)

So I was making these puffs this morning when Bunny said it was Grandparent’s Day. I suggested we take the puffs over to Ma and Pa’s house (the kids’ name for Grandma and Grandpa) and have coffee. Then, I rolled the first puff in brown butter and cinnamon sugar and tried one. I immediately did the math: each of us would get about three puffs if we took them to Ma and Pa’s. My first thought? We could pick up donuts to bring them instead. With Ma and Pa out of the picture I could get 2-4 more puffs, depending on how many I could short the children. They were that good. In the end, we took them along and shared. Three turned out to be just right with a cup of coffee. But now there are none for tonight when the kids are in bed. Stinking Grandparent’s Day.

—Corbett

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

