Crunchy Granola

I once heard a friend describe a hippified, earthy individual as being “granola bar.”   I constantly struggle with cliches, so I feel for anyone who can mess up a turn of phrase….but I’m pretty sure that wasn’t right.

Granola is my favorite way to start the day.  I’ve been making this recipe on a weekly basis for a few years.  I started with Alton Brown’s granola recipe and have since adapted it to fit my own taste.   It’s a great recipe, really.  This isn’t exact baking, so measurements can be off and different nuts or sweeteners can be tried.  But…two things you cannot mess with.  First, sweetened coconut cannot be substituted—you won’t get the desired crunch.  Second, don’t even think of using fake maple syrup.  (I married into a family of Vermonters and wouldn’t be caught dead with that stuff in my house.)  And who knew that grade inflation isn’t just for colleges and universities anymore?

I eat this almost every morning with berries (frozen in the winter, like everything else around here in the tundra…but I’ve found some amazing frozen berries that are worth the price tag…trust me) and plain yogurt that I make.

It’s a great start to the morning.  Guests love it and with the holidays around the corner it would make a perfect gift in a lovely little jar…this is what I’m thinking.  I’m not very crafty, but add a paper ribbon to that jar and that’s a pretty charming presentation.  All earthy and granola bar-like.

 

Crunchy Granola

3 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 cup slivered raw almonds

1 cup sliced raw almonds

1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut  (warning…do not substitute sweetened!)

1/4 cup Vermont maple syrup  (warning…penalty of death for those who dare use Mrs. Buttersworth or her peers)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup canola oil

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Combine all ingredients together.  Spread onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet.  Bake in 250 degree oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Cool.  Store in airtight container for up to two weeks.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Crunchy Granola

  1. Carol wiken says:

    Yes, love the granola, always have it when I’m visiting. Notice that your jar is half full.

  2. […] typically make a batch of yogurt every week to go with my granola.  It’s pretty simple, I follow this recipe.   Although after taking a closer look, I […]

Leave a Reply

