Thanksgiving corrective

 

I love Thanksgiving food, especially the big, bold flavors. This year we brined the turkey, made cornbread stuffing, and some roasted veggies with green beans, roasted squash with cream cheese and walnuts (adapted from Triathlete magazine, of all places) among other things.

But afterwards, I want something different. So on Sunday, I cooked a bunch from the new Ottolenghi cookbook, Jerusalem. It is magnificent.

For dinner, I made some chicken thighs with arak (I used pernod) and fennels (above). I also made a chopped salad with spiced chickpeas.

I made some food for lunches as well. First was a roasted squash and red onion salad with  pinenuts and tahini.

Image

I also made a risotto of barley with marinated feta.

Image

All in all, it was a wonderful corrective to several days of turkey day leftovers. That said, only like 360 days until next Thanksgiving . . .

-Stuart

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

