Improvised meatballs

20130107-095700.jpg
We are leaving town for a few days, and we are trying to get rid of as much food as we can before we leave. Therefore, I had a very limited set of raw materials from which to produce a meal yesterday. Poking through the freezer, I did find about half a pound of ground turkey and one chicken breast. So, I decided to make an improvised set of meatballs.

I ground the chicken in the processor, and mixed it with an egg, 1/2 cup of panko, half of an onion, two garlic cloves, some pinenuts, and the zest of one small lemon (for a deep-inside-30-Rock reference, I can tell you I did not add the tears). I then cooked them just enough to get a crust (and sprinkled them with oregano and red pepper flakes while doing it) before finishing them in a simering tomato and eggplant sauce I had frozen during my end of summer crock pot festival, when I made crock pot sauces with all of the leftover vegetables (various basic ways to do that are here, here, and here, but none of these is quite what I did, which is to fill my crock pot with seeded tomatoes, chopped eggplant, sauteed onions and garlic, and whatever fresh herbs we had and let it rip overnight on low). Not bad, for a meal composed solely of randomm freezer and pantry items.

–Stuart

Leave a Reply

