Polenta, Chorizo and Poached Egg

20130311-212413.jpg
A few weeks ago the 3-year-old and I met Stuart and the girls for brunch at Green Market, which is closing up shop soon. I was about to order their burger when Stuart suggested the polenta. I’ve not had luck with polenta in the past but, as Stuart said, you can get a burger anywhere. So polenta with chorizo and a poached egg it was. And it was delicious. The 3-year-old also loved it.

Today I tried to replicate it at home. I found a goat cheese polenta from the Pioneer Woman and happened to have a log of goat cheese on hand. I’ve never made polenta or poached an egg before. The polenta came together nicely and after the water wasn’t quite hot enough for the first egg I managed to turn out four perfectly poached eggs. Who knew?

And, C, after giving me a hard time for taking the time to learn how to poach eggs, loved it. The kids loved the poached eggs and French bread I also made. They didn’t care for the polenta or chorizo. I know it was nowhere near the Green Market’s, even though C was excited about it. But she didn’t ever taste the Green Market’s. The 3-year-old couldn’t get enough of the polenta and chorizo at GM and she wouldn’t touch mine. So it goes.

-Corbett

20130311-213721.jpg

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Polenta, Chorizo and Poached Egg

  1. Diane says:

    So when are you going to invite us over for brunch?

Leave a Reply

