Straight up now…it’s edamame

20130421-140751.jpg

 

 

Most recently I’ve had the great pleasure to work with a Health Cooking Instructor (not a dietician) at my place of work.  I’ve been able to sample many of her snacks and so far this has been one of my favorites.  It’s pretty easy and quite tasty.  What I like about it is that it’s not pretending to be anything other than what it is.  (I’ve had the shock of dipping into “guacamole” only to discover it’s been made out of peas.  No guacamole without avacados for me, thank you very much.)  I’m not a fan of the veggie burger.  Give me the veggie straight up, no get up needed.  Turkey bacon?  Please.

Try it.  You might like it.

 

Edamame Dip

12 oz. bag thawed shelled edamame

1/4 cup diced red onion

1/2 cup cilantro finely chopped

1 clove minced garlic

1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon or lime juice

1 teaspoon peanut butter

Kosher salt (to taste)

1 teaspoon red chili paste or red pepper flakes

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

5 tablespoons olive oil

To make, simply rev up your food processor until desired consistency.   Serve with tortilla chips, crackers, or veggie sticks (carrots, red pepper).

 

—Diane

 

20130421-140757.jpg

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

