Stuart returns

20130521-211448.jpg

It has been a while since I blogged. Diane was cooking a lot, the spring was crazy busy, the weather has been disheartening, etc. Anyway, it is time for me to cook some more, and maybe blog a bit.

Today I chaperoned the kids’ trip to Chahinkapa Zoo in Wahpeton, ND and then worked at home. That left me with a little more time to be creative in the kitchen, as we try to us up some stuff before a grocery run tomorrow (the following may not seem terribly creative, but without the extra time it may have been peanut butter sammich night).

So I made a steak for us all, which I served with homemade pesto for the adults.

20130521-211538.jpg

I also made a nice gratin of fennel and potatoes (pictured above). I did not have cream, and I did not want cream calories, so I made a creamless adaptation (based on this, or look here). It ended up more like a nice pan of roasted veggies with cheese, but using the mandoline always makes you feel fancy.

20130521-211638.jpg
Finally, the coup de grace – cheaters brussels sprouts. I roasted a bag from Trader Joes, but I added some homemade pesto, and it was really quite delightful.

-Stuart

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

